Up Down

I’ve now got over 1000 books sorted into place and 2927 books in the offline database. I may actually do an update of the text list soon, though I’d rather just try and get to the point where I can transfer the offline information into the dynamic database online.

Here are the new books as of last update:

Invaders Now!
The Marvel Art of Mike Deodato
Warriors Three: Dog Day Afternoon
X-Men: Lifedeath
Spider-Man: The Death of Jean DeWolff
X-Men Vs. Avengers / Fantastic Four
Red Hulk: Scorched Earth
Spider-Man: New York Stories
Spider-Man: The Extremists
X-Men First Class: Class Portraits
Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes
Marvel Adventures Spider-Man Vol. 15: Peter Parker vs. The X-Men
Marvel Adventures Spider-Man: Amazing
Marvel Adventures Spider-Man: Spectacular
Marvel Adventures Spider-Man: Sensational
Marvel Adventures Thor featuring Captain America, Dr. Strange & Ant-Man
Marvel Adventures Thor and The Avengers
Marvel Adventures Spider-Man and The Avengers
Marvel Adventures Black Widow and The Avengers
Marvel Adventures Avengers: Iron Man
Marvel Adventures Avengers: Thor
Marvel Adventures Iron Man / Spider-Man
Marvel Adventures Fantastic Four: Spaced Crusaders
Marvel Adventures Fantastic Four: Doomed If You Don’t
Marvel Adventures Fantastic Four: Four-Three-Two-One?
Marvel Adventures Fantastic Four Vol. 1
Franklin Richards: Not-So-Secret Invasion

There is definitely a lot of Marvel Adventures and All Ages stuff on the list now. Unlike the Ultimate universe, there isn’t really an all encompassing continuity, though, so I still think it makes the most sense to just place them by date along the main list. Any thoughts?

Want to stay up to date? Click here to subscribe to updates by RSS!
You can also sign up to get updates by Email!
« | »

12 Comments Post New »

  1. Dirt55 wrote on at January 19, 2011 1:35 am:

    Wow it’s insane how fast you are updating the new Marvel database! Are you having dreams of spidey webs and making pancakes in the shape of an X yet?


    Ian replied on January 19th, 2011 at 2:00 am:

    haha yeah, but it’s more like daydreaming since I’m not actually getting enough sleep to have dreams (or at least remember them).

    Marc has been helping me a lot, since he sent me a word doc with more than a thousand placements. Using that list as a starting point makes the rest a LOT easier.


    -B. replied on January 19th, 2011 at 5:46 am:

    I agree with Dirt55, Ian. It’s pretty crazy how fast these books are being added to your offline listing. :) We all appreciate it, even if we don’t post about it. Well, I guess I can’t really talk for everyone, but I appreciate it.

    And as for the placement, I would definitely agree that at least for the time being, until you find evidence contrary to it, you should put the books by date published. I haven’t read any of the Marvel Adventures, but as far as I understand it, they were just published for all ages readers so that they too could enjoy the characters without worrying about the whole backstory or the in-continuity stuff. Just my two-cents.


    Ian replied on January 19th, 2011 at 5:52 am:

    yeah, that seems to be the case. There are some interpretations of the characters that are unique to Marvel Adventures (Emma Frost, for example, which makes a lot of sense) but they can pretty much be read at any time, so it’s probably fine to just place them by date.


  2. Marc wrote on at January 19, 2011 6:46 pm:

    Yeah, it’s best to organize the Marvel Adventures stuff by date. A lot of it directly conflicts with the main universe, but whatever…a lot of them are pretty good and deserve reading.

    Also, the Emma Frost series is being recollected into an Ultimate Collection soon, which I doubt will have any kind of special branding on it (e.g. “Marvel Adventures” or anything else), so I think it’s safe to say that Marvel is considering it in-continuity.


    Ian replied on January 19th, 2011 at 6:47 pm:

    This is the same Emma Frost Silencer? That’s what I was talking about. Not those other digests (those ones, I think, are 616? 616ish?)


    Marc replied on January 19th, 2011 at 9:33 pm:

    Oh, I was talking about the digests collecting the ongoing series. I thought those were initially under some non-616 banner, though I could be wrong.


    Ian replied on January 19th, 2011 at 9:38 pm:

    not that I’m aware of.. check out this re-branding though – first issue of the series:

    first digest:

    Pretty hilarious.

    Any idea where this takes place in continuity?


    Marc replied on January 20th, 2011 at 2:28 pm:

    Yep, that’s the ongoing series I was talking about (though I worded it rather confusingly, lol). The Karl Bollers-written series is firmly in the 616 universe, and details the character’s origins. When it was collected, it was rebranded as a Marvel Age book, given that “cleaned-up” cover, and published in digest format. It’s still in the 616, though, and there’s a new Ultimate Collection of all 18 issues coming out in 2011.

    Aside from the re-branding thing, the series’ place in continuity has been called into some question because it apparently contradicts with some mid-’90s flashbacks to Emma’s early years. I think those people are just taking things too seriously — there will always be contradictions of that kind in superhero comics.

    The Silencer thing is completely separate. That’s a version of Emma Frost who appeared in Marvel Adventures Spider-Man, and ONLY in that title, to my knowledge. Marvel can be so confusing sometimes…


    Ian replied on January 20th, 2011 at 11:30 pm:

    yeah, that seems to confirm my understanding of it.

    As to the specific placements, do you think they should go back before some events or be placed by date?


  3. Marc wrote on at January 21, 2011 1:22 am:

    Tough call. I’m not sure if the series makes specific reference to things happening at the time of publication, but I would assume that you’re meant to have some prior knowledge of the character…sort of like how I wouldn’t recommend someone watching Star Wars for the first time begin with the prequel trilogy, even though it makes perfect narrative sense to watch that first. Not having read it, I’m not sure if the analogy totally works though…I’ll try to take a look at the series myself at some point and get back to you about it.


    Ian replied on January 21st, 2011 at 1:27 am:

    cool man. I think I’ll figure out where it started running and drop them all there, for now – it shouldn’t require any knowledge of the character from before that point.


Trackbacks and Related Posts

Content from other blogs and on this site that links back to this post.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Registered users may edit their comments past the 5 minute limit. [Register] [Login] [Logout]
HTML is allowed, but posts containing more than two links or sketchy code will be held for moderation.

« | »